Stay controlled on social media

Immediately after terror attack on Paris, Facebook started tricolore-filter campaign, similarly as they did rainbow-filter one for marriage equality. People share the hearts with Paris by filtering their profile pictures. The movement was so quick and viral. But I don’t do this. I don’t discourage their honest grief to the victims at all, and my heart is also with Paris. However, I need to remember the same tragedy recently occurred in Lebanon and ¬†Pakistan, so the same degree of care should have been given. Filtering pictures made me consider I might be biased to express my sorrow from one incident to another. I don’t let Facebook control me. I control my social network. The peace for every lives is our hope.

Leave a Reply

