Intuit’s Use of Linked In to Apologize

Intuit has had a bit of a crisis at the beginning of Tax Season due to alignment of desktop and online offerings- causing some customers to purchase a product they use every year to find it does not have all of the features they were used to.

Our CEO, Brad Smith, posted on his LinkedIn blog regarding the company’s response. Would LOVE feedback on efficacy, as well as the choice to use LinkedIn.

http://www.notesfrombrad.com/blog/2015/1/23/new-linkedin-post-in-business-love-means-having-to-say-youre-sorry

6 thoughts on “Intuit’s Use of Linked In to Apologize

  1. I think that the use of LinkedIn is a smart one–after all, it was many of their more business-y customers who had issues, right? That’s a great place to find them, and the posts there are easily shared via other channels (like we see here). Plus, I thought the apology was very sincere and did a nice job of expressly demonstrating how they plan to approve. All in all, a nontraditional but smart choice for an apology! What does everyone else think?

  2. I was surprised by the choice of words because I don’t associate the Intuit brand with “a community of love” like Southwest airlines, for example. I did think the tone was sincere and highly commendable for admitting to a big mistake. It does raise concerns for me that a company whom I should trust to make sure my taxes are filed correctly is so open to the idea of making mistakes and learning along the way. I feel like the “mea culpa” from the CEO is always nice to hear when there are big mistakes like this, however he seemed to have opened the wrong door for his business customers. I would interpret the letter as “we’ll probably make mistakes again” and as a flag to start shopping around for another product.

  3. Ha ha, very true! But I would imagine that he was going for a couple of things here. One is simply that a person who would be swayed by a blogged apology rather than the performance of the product is probably concerned more with whether the company seems to care about them. Two is that the idea of a community of love is very consistent with their current branding. And while it may be a little loosey goosier than might be ideal, it’s clear this is an honest apology–if he were to promise no more more mistakes, well, that would be untrue. There will always be more mistakes! :-\

  4. I guess my software development background is coming through here when I was considering the idea of making mistakes (meaning that you do thorough testing before a release), so I just wonder how much market research and testing was utilized before deciding to make these feature alignment changes. :-/ With my marketing hat on…yes I know there will always be mistakes! Not an exact science. My engineer’s brain is getting in the way again. 😮

    • Yeah, perhaps the mistake was not in testing the product, the features were great, just not in the version the customer purchased. I think it was a huge miss in alerting the customers when they made the purchase, which would be easier to do for the online version in a notification, but for software in store, more difficult. Fun to brainstorm how to feature “product changes” in a positive way..

Leave a Reply

