MySMN Internship: Final

As the quarter winds to an end, as does my official Independent Study Internship. Luckily, the cards were in my favor and my stay at MySMN has been extended through the summer! However, as for these past 11 weeks, I have learned a lot from my supervisors and their different positions. The work environment was a blast and my desk was a ping-pong table that I frequently got kicked off of so the office could relieve some stress with a quick game.

MySMN has shown me the perks of having a close-knit and well directed team along with how to work professionally and efficiently. There have been several things that I have picked up throughout my stay that I’d like to share. When working to help client’s improve their social media marketing strategies, you need to know:

1. Outsource content you don’t want to write yourself

There are tons of things that you can be doing to upgrade someone’s marketing plans, and writing up a Facebook for every single one of your clients probably will become pretty time consuming. Outsource daily Facebook, twitter, or Pintrest posts that are time consuming to craft to an outside source. This will save you some time to work on the bigger projects that are going on.

2. Have standard forms and templates for all clients

Be sure to stay organized with your company. Creating strategies for each client must be unique to them, but create a standard formatting technique that you can be a starting point with every client. This will keep your company organized and make processes so much easier.

3. Be creative

This is something you can’t learn, but loving your job and having fun with it will really allow for some creative juices to start flowing. Work together as a team to create the best work possible for your clients. Thinking outside the box will keep your company new and innovative, which will really start to make a difference.

This internship that I’ve had with MySMN has been the absolute best learning experience. I have enjoyed every moment of it and am excited to keep on going with this opportunity. Creating some lasting connections in the professional world has helped me already and I can only imagine it continuing to pay off. Beginning some real life, career-oriented work has shown me where my passion lies and that perhaps this time next year, graduation won’t be so daunting.

 

Leave a Reply

